top of page
  • Writer's picturePoonam Yadav

How many MLAs are there in India?

How many MLAs are there in India?  Chunaav | Politics | Democracy | Elections | Youth in Politics | Women in Politics   CHUNAAV - Leading Political Consulting Firm: Specializing in Political Strategy, Voter Management, and Campaign Solutions  CHUNAAV, a reputable Political Consulting firm established in 2005, offers comprehensive solutions in political strategy, voter management, campaign services, and more. Our experienced professionals excel in psephology, election research, and data analytics. With a focus on the 2024 general elections, we empower political campaigns with our unrivaled expertise in understanding voter behavior and crafting effective strategies.

Here's a breakdown of the legislative assemblies and constituencies across the country:

- India has 28 states and 3 Union Territories with a State Legislative Assembly.

- Elections to the State Legislative Assembly are held every 5 years, and the elected members are called MLAs (Member of Legislative Assembly).

- The boundaries of assembly constituencies were adjusted in the 2008 delimitation, but the total number of seats in the State Assemblies is still based on the population records of the 1971 Census.

Assembly Constituencies in India:

- India has a total of 4,123 assembly constituencies.

- Out of these, 2,945 constituencies are general category seats, 614 are reserved for Schedule Castes, and 551 seats are reserved for Schedule Tribes.

State-wise MLA Representation:

- Uttar Pradesh has the highest number of MLAs, with 403 members in the Legislative Assembly.

- On the other hand, the Union Territory of Puducherry has the lowest representation, with only 30 MLAs.

Sikkim's Unique Representation:

- Sikkim has 32 Vidhan Sabha constituencies, including 12 seats reserved for Sikkimese of Bhutia Lepcha origin under section 7(1A) of the Representation of the People Act, 1950.

- Additionally, Sikkim has one assembly constituency exclusively reserved for the Buddhist monastic community (Sangha), allowing registered monks and nuns from the 111 recognized monasteries to contest and vote for this seat.

Legislative Assembly and Union Territories:

- Out of the 28 states and 8 Union Territories in India, all states have a legislative assembly.

- However, only 3 out of the 8 Union Territories possess a legislature.

- The Union Territories without a legislature are Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Lakshadweep Islands, Ladakh, and Dadra and Nagar Haveli & Daman and Diu.


bottom of page