top of page
  • Writer's picturePoonam Yadav

India's Lok Sabha Constituencies!

India's Lok Sabha Constituencies. Chunaav | Politics | Democracy | Elections | Youth in Politics | Women in Politics   CHUNAAV - Leading Political Consulting Firm: Specializing in Political Strategy, Voter Management, and Campaign Solutions  CHUNAAV, a reputable Political Consulting firm established in 2005, offers comprehensive solutions in political strategy, voter management, campaign services, and more. Our experienced professionals excel in psephology, election research, and data analytics. With a focus on the 2024 general elections, we empower political campaigns with our unrivaled expertise in understanding voter behavior and crafting effective strategies.

Current boundaries are drawn on 2001 Census information. India is supposed to have census-based de-limitation based upon the first Census post 2026.

At present, Lok Sabha (Lower House) consists of 543 parliamentary constituencies, reflecting the diverse representation across the nation.

Constituency Breakdown: Out of these, 412 seats are classified as General category, ensuring equal opportunities. Additionally, 84 seats are reserved for the Schedule Castes, while 47 seats are reserved for the Schedule Tribes, empowering marginalized communities.

Insights on Electors: Examining the 2019 Lok Sabha Election, the largest constituency in terms of elector count is Malkajgiri (Gen) in Telangana, having 31.50 lakh electors. Karnataka's Bangalore North (Gen) follows closely with 28.49 lakh electors, while Ghaziabad (Gen) in Uttar Pradesh stands third with 27.28 lakh electors.

Smallest Constituency: On the other end, Lakshadweep (ST) stands as the smallest Lok Sabha constituency, represented by a mere 55,189 electors.

Geographical Expanse: Ladakh claims the title of the largest parliamentary constituency, spanning an expansive area of 1,73,266.37 square kilometers. In contrast, Chandni Chowk (Gen) in Delhi holds the distinction of being the smallest constituency in terms of area.

What is delimitation?

Delimitation literally means the act of fixing the boundaries of constituencies


Present Status: Delimitation based on the 2001 census was done in 2008. However, the total number of seats in the Assemblies and Parliament decided as per the 1971 Census was not changed.

Article 81 of the Constitution defines the composition of the Lok Sabha and it mandates that the composition should represent changes in population.

What is the issue with the scheduled delimitation exercise?

  • Considering the Census data for 2011, almost half (48.6%) of our population is contributed by the States of Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Bihar, West Bengal and Madhya Pradesh.

  • According to the projections made by the Technical Group formed by National Commission on Population, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare for 2011-36, the share of these states in India’s population would see an increase.

  • The share of states such as Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Kerala and West Bengal is said to decline.

  • The scheduled delimitation exercise will inevitably lead to

    • a reduced representation for States that have managed to stabilise their populations

    • a higher representation for States that have not stabilised their populations


bottom of page