top of page
  • Writer's picturePoonam Yadav

Which states in India have a Bicameral Legislature?

Which State in India have a bicameral Legislature?  Chunaav | Politics | Democracy | Elections | Youth in Politics | Women in Politics   CHUNAAV - Leading Political Consulting Firm: Specializing in Political Strategy, Voter Management, and Campaign Solutions  CHUNAAV, a reputable Political Consulting firm established in 2005, offers comprehensive solutions in political strategy, voter management, campaign services, and more. Our experienced professionals excel in psephology, election research, and data analytics. With a focus on the 2024 general elections, we empower political campaigns with our unrivaled expertise in understanding voter behavior and crafting effective strategies.

What is Bicameral Legislature?

- A bicameral legislature is a legislative system consisting of two separate assemblies, chambers, or houses. For example, the Indian Parliament consists of two houses: Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha.

State Legislative Council (Vidhan Parishad): The Upper House

- The State Legislative Council (MLCs), also known as Vidhan Parishad, serves as the upper house in Indian states with a bicameral state legislature, while the lower house is the State Legislative Assembly (MLAs).

Bicameral Legislature in India: An Overview

- Out of the 36 states and union territories in India, 25 have a unicameral legislature, 6 have a bicameral legislature, and the remaining 5 are union territories without a legislature.

- The 6 states with a legislative council are Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Telangana, Maharashtra, Bihar, and Uttar Pradesh. However, no union territory has a legislative council.

Qualifications and Tenure of Members

- Members of a State Legislative Council (MLCs) must be:

- Citizens of India.

- At least 30 years old.

- Mentally sound and not insolvent.

- Enrolled voters of the respective state.

- MLCs cannot simultaneously hold positions as Members of Parliament and Members of the State Legislative Assembly.

- MLCs serve a tenure of six years and are not subject to dissolution. Every two years, one-third of the members retire, following a pattern similar to the Rajya Sabha.

Composition of the State Legislative Council

- The size of the State Legislative Council cannot exceed one-third of the membership of the State Legislative Assembly, but it cannot have fewer than 40 members.

- MLCs elect the Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the State Legislative Council.

Selection of Members

MLCs are chosen through the following methods:

1. One-third are elected by members of local bodies, including municipalities, Gram panchayats, Panchayat samitis, and district councils.

2. One-third are elected by members of the State Legislative Assembly from individuals who are not members of the Assembly.

3. One-sixth are nominated by the Governor from persons with knowledge or practical experience in fields such as literature, science, arts, cooperative movement, and social services.

4. One-twelfth are elected by persons who are graduates with at least three years' standing and reside in the respective state.

5. One-twelfth are elected by teachers who have spent a minimum of three years teaching in educational institutions within the state, including secondary schools, colleges, and universities.

Creation, Abolition, and Roles of State Legislative Councils

- According to Article 169 of the Indian Constitution, the Parliament of India can create or abolish a State Legislative Council if the state's legislature passes a resolution with a special majority.

Here's a breakdown of the composition for the 6 state legislative councils in India:

Bihar Legislative Council:

- Total members: 75 (63 elected, 12 nominated by the Governor based upon recommendations of the State Cabinet)

- 63 Elected Members:

- Legislative assembly (MLAs): 27

- Local Authorities Constituencies: 24

- Graduates constituencies: 6

- Teachers constituencies: 6

Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council:

- Total members: 100 (90 elected, 10 nominated by the Governor based upon recommendations of the State Cabinet)

- 90 Elected Members:

- Legislative assembly (MLAs): 38

- Local Authorities Constituencies: 36

- Graduates constituencies: 8

- Teachers constituencies: 8

Karnataka Legislative Council:

- Total members: 75 ( 64 elected, 11 nominated by the Governor)

- 64 Elected Members:

- Legislative assembly (MLAs): 25

- Local Authorities Constituencies: 25

- Graduates constituencies: 7

- Teachers constituencies: 7

Maharashtra Legislative Council:

- Total members: 78 (66 elected, 12 nominated by the Governor)

- 66 Elected Members:

- Legislative assembly (MLAs): 30

- Local Authorities Constituencies: 22

- Graduates constituencies: 7

- Teachers constituencies: 7

Telangana Legislative Council:

- Total members: 40 (34 elected, 6 nominated by the Governor)

- 40 Elected Members:

- Legislative assembly (MLAs): 14

- Local Authorities Constituencies: 14

- Graduates constituencies: 3

- Teachers constituencies: 3

Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council:

- Total members: 58 (50 elected, 8 nominated by the Governor)

- 50 Elected Members:

- Legislative assembly (MLAs): 20

- Local Authorities Constituencies: 20

- Graduates constituencies: 5

- Teachers constituencies: 5


bottom of page